Exploring the Basics

Fashion fundamentals lessons started with seams, hems and overlocking. We were taught how to make them, how to press them open or folded, and how to identify the right and wrong sides of the overlocking. The speed of the overlocker is quite drastically different to the speed of the sewing machines at the moment so it takes some getting used to when switching machines. My stitching is still haphazard, therefore I shall have to practise more on scraps of fabric.

Moving on to pattern-cutting, I learnt how to paste patterns to remove darts and create new ones – making different styles of sleeves, bodices and skirts. This process interests me the most as you can change up patterns to make more complicated designs. The princess line removes all darts to create a fitted bodice and that will be what we will be using for our practise dress (toile).

Machine Embroidery

 

Coming from a textiles background, I have had experience with machine embroidery. The selection of stitches are vast but I still love to do hand embroidery. On the other hand, the speed of the machine makes the process more efficient. Doing free hand embroidery on the machine can create some interesting designs and is a good go-between for machine and hand embroidery.

Free Machine Embroidery sample
Free Machine Embroidery sample

The colours in this sample are a drastic difference to the colour palette of my theme and the project, however, it presents an interesting contrast. With the free machine embroidery, I followed the lines, patterns and shapes of the gravestones from my primary images. I loved how this sample turned out and I believe the middle pink aztec print gravestone is the best part of it as it draws your eye to a focal point.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started