Finishing the Toile

Taking the techniques we’ve learned from the previous fashion fundamental lessons, we began to make a simple dress with one sleeve. I found pattern-cutting and pinning the fabric in place easy, however sewing the seams was harder when it came to the curved bits. The most difficult parts for me to do was to pull back the teeth to sew the zip in and sew the sleeve into the armhole. Although it was quite stressful when I experienced problems, I managed to overcome them and achieve a good result.

IMG_0903

For my final design, I will be making a dress similar to this. I want to use the princess line to make the bodice and skirt more fitted. To make it sleeveless, I’m going to be changing the top half of the bodice and removing the armholes. I’ve played around with different styles and silhouettes on the mannequin to help me come up with designs to achieve this. The variety of materials used gave me an accurate indication of how they will perform when worn on a bigger scale. I love the look and behaviour of black organdie, furthermore it would work well with my idea for my final design. It’s a constrasting effect and texture to the felt which will add more dimension to the dress.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started